Aesop (Fables 001-012)

Aesop fables audiobook


Aesop fables set 1

This is a release of the first set of Aesop’s Fables (nr. 001-012), performed & recorded in ancient Greek (reconstructed pronunciation ).
The fables come in alphabetical order of their Greek titles, as listed by Émile Chambry. In the audiobook you’ll find:

Aesop, fables included

  • 001 – Goods & Evils
  • 002 – Statue Seller
  • 003 – Eagle & Fox
  • 004 – Eagle & Beetle
  • 005 – Eagle, Magpie & Shepherd
  • 006 – Eagle (his wings plucked) & Fox
  • 007 – Eagle hit by an Arrow
  • 008 – Nightingale & Hawk
  • 009 – Nightingale & Swallow
  • 010 – Athenian Debtor
  • 011 – Ethiopian
  • 012 – Wild Cat & Cock

If you don’t already own it in book form, you can follow the (original Greek) text of this edition by clicking here. It is also the main text used for the recording, with some minor editing, when necessary for correcting obvious orthographical or other mistakes.
The audiobook is ± 18′ long. Fable nr.006 is presented below as a sample.
The downloadable free m4b-sample, lower on, contains six short fragments and is meant for use on mobile devices or software that can play bookmarkable audiobooks. The audiobook comes in both mp3 and m4b formats.
Click on the on the left of the text below for listening.


006. Eagle (his wings plucked) & Fox

Ἀετὸς (τὰ πτερὰ τιλθεὶς) καὶ ἀλώπηξ.

Ποτὲ ἀετὸς ἑάλω ὑπ᾽ ἀνθρώπου. Τούτου δὲ τὰ πτερὰ ὁ ἄνθρωπος κόψας ἀφῆκε μετὰ τῶν ὀρνίθων ἐν οἴκῳ εἶναι.Ὁ δὲ ἦν κατηφὴς καὶ οὐδὲν ἤσθιεν ἐκ τῆς λύπης, ὅμοιος δὲ ἦν βασιλεῖ δεσμώτῃ.
Ἕτερος δέ τις τοῦτον ὠνησάμενος καὶ τὰ πτερὰ ἀνασπάσας καὶ μύρῳ χρίσας ἐποίησε πτερῶσαι. Ὁ δὲ πετασθεὶς καὶ τοῖς ὄνυξι λαγωὸν ἁρπάσας ἤνεγκεν αὐτῷ δῶρον.
Ἀλώπηξ δὲ ἰδοῦσα εἶπεν: «μὴ τούτῳ δίδου, ἀλλὰ τῷ πρώτῳ, ὅτι ὁ μὲν φύσει ἀγαθός ἐστι· ἐκεῖνον δὲ μᾶλλον ἐξευμενίζου, μήπως πάλιν λαβών σε τὸ πτερὸν ἐρημώσῃ.»

Ὅτι δεῖ χρηστὰς ἀμοιβὰς τοῖς εὐεργέταις παρέχειν, τοὺς πονηροὺς δὲ φρονίμως τροποῦσθαι.

Free Download Samples

Please, right-click the link(s) below and choose the “save” option. After successful download you can check the playability and transferability of the samples on your computer a/o mobile devices.

“Aesop 006” (m4b-format) | “Aesop 006” (mp3-format)
Duration: m4b-sample 3’33”, mp3-sample 1’36”, whole audiobook 18’27”

After purchase you may delete the downloaded samples or give them to a friend that might be interested.

play button
Our website needs some maintenance (or radical updating). Not all audiobooks are visible here. Until everything is fixed, please visit only our new website:  Thank you!